UMaT Holds her 12th Congregation

Pin It

Prof Kuma Delivering his Address to Congregation
Prof Kuma Delivering his Address to Congregation

The 12th Congregation of the University of Mines and Technology, Tarkwa, has been held at an impressive ceremony at the University Auditorium. There were five hundred and sixty-eight (568) graduands who received various degrees including one (1) Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degree, 34 master’s degrees, 498 Bachelor of Science degrees and the rest received Diploma and certificates. 97 of those awarded Bachelor of Science degrees obtained First Class.

Presenting his last report to Congregation, the Vice Chancellor of UMaT, Prof J. S. Y. Kuma thanked the Chancellor of the University, the University Council and the University Community for their support during his tenure as the 2nd Vice Chancellor of the University. He noted that major infrastructural expansion projects on campus funded from the Mineral Development Fund (MDF) known as the Legacy projects had seen significant improvement since the last Congregation. He said the new Administration block funded by the MDF and the new School of Petroleum Studies Building Complex funded by the Ghana National Petroleum Corporation (GNPC) would be completed hopefully in a few weeks.

Prof Kuma said following the introduction of the Free Senior High School policy, it was expected that a number of the first batch of beneficiaries of the policy will qualify for tertiary education this year, hence it was the vision of the University to expand. In view of this the University had stepped up preparations to admit a sizeable number of students of the free Senior High School policy in the next academic year. One of such preparations was the establishment of the School of Petroleum Studies with three departments and three new programmes to start with.

Additionally, the University with Support from the Ministry of Railways Development had established the School of Railways and Infrastructure Development at Essikado in the Sekondi-Takoradi Metropolis. According to Prof Kuma this was the first satellite campus of UMaT and will start with six programmes already running.

While congratulating the graduands for their achievements, the Vice Chancellor urged them to contribute generously to the University's programmes when they begin to earn some income.

Chairman of the University Council, Dr Stephen Saforo Yirenkyi commended Prof J. S. Y. Kuma whose term of office as the Vice Chancellor will end on 15th October, 2020 for moving the University to a very admirable level especially for making sure that the University became more visible in the country and the world at large. Dr Yirenkyi called on Government to continue to support the technology-oriented University with practical training as her hall mark to become the foundation of the industry-driven transformation that will ensure the economic take-off of Ghana. This he believed was the only way to ensure that the Ghana beyond aid agenda of the Government will be realised.

The Western Regional Minister, Hon Kwabena Okyere Darko congratulated the Vice Chancellor and Management for working hard to ensure that the School of Petroleum Studies Building Complex and the 5-storey New Administration Block were almost completed for use. He pledged the Regional Coordinating Council’s support for the smooth running of the UMaT School of Railways and Infrastructure Development at Essikado.


The Vice Chancellor’s Award for the overall best graduating student for this year went to Mr Solomon Eshun with a CWA of 89.12 from the Department of Mathematical Sciences. He received a laptop donated by the UMaT Alumni Association and a cash prize of GH¢2,000.00 and a certificate from the University. He also won the best male graduating student award for the Department of Mathematical Sciences with a cash prize of GH¢500 sponsored by the University.

The Overall Best Graduand Mr Solomon Eshun Receiving the Vice Chancellors Best Student Award from the Chairman of Council
The Overall Best Graduand, Mr Solomon Eshun Receiving the Vice Chancellor's Best Student Award from the Chairman of Council

The best female graduating student went to Miss Martha Boahemaa Boahene also from the Department of Mathematical Sciences with CWA of 85.74. She took home GH¢1,000.00. She also won the Proton-Lily Lifetime award for best female Mathematics graduand with a cash prize of USD200 and Hon Gifty Kusi's GH¢1,000.00 best female graduating student and the best female mathematics graduand award.

Best graduating male and female students in Mining Engineering award went to Mr Felix Frimpong Gyabaa and Miss Rhodaline Suubam respectively, receiving Five Hundred Dollars each.

Best Graduating student in the Department of Geomatic Engineering went to Mr Kenneth Kwabena Kenney while Mr Kenneth Apau Junior received the best project work in the Geomatic Engineering Department award.

Mr Harry Fry Tetteh Nartey and Mr Solomon Eshun of the Faculties of Mineral Resources Technology and Engineering respectively won the over best students award in their respective departments.

Mr Emmaneul Tei from the Department of Mining Engineering won the best graduating student in English literature award while Mr Patrick Sarpong Abban of the Department of Minerals Engineering won the best disciplined graduating student award.

One of the Graduands Dr Mrs Georgette Barnes Sakyi Addo Middle being Congratulated by the Chairman of Council Left
One of the Graduands, Dr Mrs Georgette Barnes Sakyi-Addo (Middle) being Congratulated by the Chairman of Council (Left)

Miss Margaret Ekua Amosah won the best graduating and best female Minerals Engineering graduand award, taking home a cash prize of GHC3,000.00 sponsored by Mrs Catherine Kuupol-Kuutor, the Metallurgical Manager of Abosso Gold Fields Limited, and the only female Metallurgical Manager in the West African Sub-region.

Mr Matthew Ekow Ewusi won the best worker award for the Senior Staff Category, while Mr Kobina Zuut won for the Junior Staff Category. Each of them received a certificate and a cash prize of GHC2,500.


As part of the graduation ceremony, the University awarded seven people with Honorary Doctor of Science Degrees (Honoris Causa) for their meritorious service to humanity, Mother Ghana, Africa and the world at large.

They are, Professor Dr Ing Newton Amegbey, the Foundation Pro Vice Chancellor of UMaT, Mr Eric Asubonteng, Managing Director of AngloGold Ashanti, Obuasi Mine, Dr Tony Aubynn former Chief Executive, Minerals Commission and Founder and President of the Africa Institute of Extractive Industry and Mr Sulemanu Koney, the CEO of Ghana Chamber of Mines. The rest are Mrs Georgette Barnes Sakyi-Addo, a distinguished Business Executive and Entrepreneur, Mr Stephen Kofi Ndede, General Manager of Perseus Mine and President of the Alumni Association of UMaT and Noble Peter Emerson Sampson, the Vice President of the Alumni Association of UMaT.

Source: Paul Y. A. Yeboah, Senior Assistant Registrar, University Relations Office

Pin It


Please remember to join our newsletter programme by subscribing. Thank you.

Contact us

For more information about UMaT, please use any of the following medium.

  • Hot line: +233 3123 20324/20280

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.

Who's Online

We have 556 guests and no members online

You are here: Home Media & Press Happenings News & Happenings UMaT Holds her 12th Congregation